Book Giveaway! Follow for a chance to win!

We have copies of this year’s Judy Lopez Memorial Award winners to give away. EVERYTHING SAD IS UNTRUE by author Daniel Nayeri, A WISH IN THE DARK by author Christina Soontornvat, and SARA AND THE SEARCH FOR NORMAL by author Wesley King.

Starting today, Tuesday, Sept. 21st, ending at midnight on Friday, Sept. 24th, the first 5 people who follow us on YouTube will win one of these books below!

Announcing Judy Lopez Memorial Award for Children’s Literature

The 36th annual Judy Lopez Memorial Award for Children’s Literature, hosted by the Women’s National Book Association-Los Angeles Chapter (WNBA-LA), will broadcast its virtual award’s event on YouTube beginning Sunday, September 26, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. PST.

The award is granted to works of literary excellence for nine-to-twelve year olds. Judy Lopez was a bookseller and founding member of the WNBA-LA, and she was passionate about seeing children’s literature of quality recognized and rewarded. Visit our website at

+ Judy Lopez Memorial Award for Children’s Literature
+ Date—beginning Sunday, September 26, 2021
+ Time—2:00 p.m. PST
+ Open to the public—FREE

This year’s medalist is NPR Best Book of the Year author Daniel Nayeri, who wrote Everything Sad is Untrue: a True Story. Honor book awards go to Victoria Jamieson and Omar Mohamed (Dial Press) for When Stars are Scattered, Christina Soontornvat (Candlewick) for A Wish in the Dark, and Wesley King (Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books) for Sara and the Search for Normal.

Books are available for purchase at Donations are welcome to help promote the award and support excellence in children’s literature. The WNBA-LA is a registered 501(c)(3).