Executive Board Members

Angela Shanté is a former K-12 classroom teacher, and award-winning author of THE NOISY CLASSROOM, a series that she wrote about her third-grade classroom. With almost 20 years of experience in education and advocacy work, Angela is focused on using her voice and platform to support, highlight, and make space for marginalized creatives in the arts and in education. In addition to her creative work, Angela works as an educational/DEI consultant supporting creative, educational, and culturally relevant projects, training, and workshops for students, adults, and organizations.


Eddie Louise is a novelist and audio-drama/podcast creator who builds speculative fiction worlds on the page and for the ears. Writer of the hit audio-drama, THE TALES OF SAGE & SAVANT, the novels of the TRANSMIGRATIONS Series, and the forthcoming Historical, THE LAST WITCH.


Diana Giovinazzo is the co-creator of Wine, Women and Words, a weekly literary podcast featuring interviews with authors over a glass of wine. Diana is active within her local literary community as the vice president of the Los Angeles chapter of the Women’s National Book Association. The Woman in Red is her debut novel.


2023 Officers, Board Members, and Chairs

  • President: Angela Shanté
  • Vice President: Eddie Louise
  • Secretary: (Open)
  • Treasurer: (Open)
  • Immediate Past President:  Diana Giovinazzo
  • Membership Chair: (Open)
  • Auditor: Holly Shaffer
  • Judy Lopez Award Committee Chair: Cynthia Levin
  • UN Chair: (Open)
  • Communications Chair: Camari Hawkins (Consultant)
  • Diversity Chair: (Open)

Interested in joing the board? Charing a committee? Volunteering? Partnering with WNBA Los Angeles? Contact: losangeles@wnba-books.org

Judy Lopez Memorial Awards: judylopezbookaward.org