Judy Lopez Award

The Judy Lopez Memorial Awards for Children’s Literature

Judy Lopez, one of the founding members of the LA chapter of the Women’s National Book Association, enjoyed a special enjoyment and love for children’s literature.  Judy passed away at a young age and the Judy Lopez Memorial Award was created to memorialize her love and passion for children’s literature as well as the impact she made on her community.  Recently, the LA WNBA Chapter has partnered with Judy’s sister-in-law, Joan Slottow, who will be continuing the award in Judy’s memory.

The Judy Lopez Memorial Award is an annual award presented to an outstanding U.S. children’s book published in the previous year.  Several additional books will be honored along with the medal-winning selection.

This experience is not to be missed, so be sure to purchase your event tickets soon and be part of the experience.  Tea and sparkling wine will be served, as we celebrate winners of the 2020 Lopez Awards for Excellence in Children’s Literature.

Date:  October 4, 2020
Time:  1 to 4 p.m.
Place: The Culver Hotel, 9400 Culver Boulevard, Culver City CA 90232
Cost:  $48 via check or $50 thru PayPal
What:  Afternoon tea and sparkling wine to meet and celebrate the winners of the 2020 Judy Lopez Memorial Award.  No host bar also available.

To pay by check remit payment to:
Judy Lopez Award Treasurer, 944 Centinela Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90403

For more information, contact our Judy Lopez Awards Chair, Cynthia Levin @ tialevin@sbcglobal.net

2019 Judy Lopez Medalists
Veera Hiranandan:

Sharon Draper:

Alan Gratz:

M. T. Anderson:

Cece Bell:

The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge Book Trailer

Judy Lopez 2018 medalist